Structuring My Literacy Class

I am not consistent. My husband eats the same cereal every day. This drives me crazy. I am constantly oscillating and this behavior applies to my classroom.  For my c0llege prep students, I have a few structures in place, but we vary what we do based on the unit and lesson.

I think this is becoming an issue for my literacy students. I have noticed that my literacy students do well when they know that to expect out of the classroom and when they understand the lesson. Additionally, I have been reflecting on a need to be more systematic in terms of reading strategies and grammar skills. I believe that a more rigid structure might better facilitate this system.

Here is what I am thinking:

Monday: 

  • Video building background for AOTW
  • Assign AOTW and instruct on Weekly Reading Strategy (WRS)
  • Model Weekly Reading Strategy with section of AOTW
  • Independent reading using WRS

Tuesday: 

  • Grammar Work warm up (I could use DSJrs. or Edge)
  • Review grammar topic and apply to exemplar writing
  • Look at exemplar writing for Writing Task
  • Writing Time focused on grammar topic (Blogs?)

Wednesday:

  • Grammar Work warm up (I could use DSJrs. or Edge)
  • Review grammar topic and apply to exemplar writing
  • Look at exemplar writing for Writing Task
  • Writing Time focused on grammar topic (Blogs?)

Thursday:

  • Grammar work warm up
  • Check in with  AOTW and instruct on Weekly Reading Strategy (WRS)
  • Independent reading using WRS

Friday: 

  • Tech Project (if students finish AOTW and weekly work)
  • Make up (if not completed with work)

 

What I need to figure out is whether I am going to use the EDGE textbook and just modify it to meet this structure, or whether I am going to create all of these things. I know other teachers would agree that there is a fine line between using textbooks and recreating everything.

Leave a Reply

